Ruby Hill Golf Club is in the heart of the Livermore Wine Valley on property that was once the original Ruby Hill Winery.
The original grape-growing property was founded by John Crellin in 1887, with money made in the oyster trade and was named for the bright red soil its vineyards boast. The winery was eventually abandoned, and in 1989 burned, leaving only a few walls standing.
The land then transferred to the Catholic Church and Wente Vineyards. RHGC’s owner, Jim Ghielmetti, was approached in 1985 by a friend and business partner of Jack Nicklaus’ about building a Club in the Bay Area. Mr. Ghielmetti approached the Wente Family and shared his vision for the land. In 1987, the process was started to secure all of the government approvals and move forward with the project.
Construction started on Labor Day 1993 and Ruby Hill Golf Club opened its doors in 1996, the first Jack Nicklaus Signature Design Golf Course in Northern California.